BBC’s 1980 Thérèse Raquin miniseries

Nearly a year and a half after Romeo and Juliet aired, Rickman returned to the BBC for his second television appearance–a small supporting role in a 3 part Thérèse Raquin miniseries.

Disclaimer–unlike Romeo and Juliet, which I am not a fan of, I actually do like the source material for this one very much. It’s been several years since I read Thérèse Raquin, but I was intrigued by the premise after I came across an interview with Kate Winslet where she was talking about how much she loved the book. I had never heard of it, thought the plot sounded interesting, and promptly requested it via interlibrary loan through the library I work at. I’ve always been fascinated by psychological thrillers, so the tale of an adulterous couple who slowly go insane after murdering the woman’s husband was right up my alley.

Despite enjoying the book, I’ve never watched any of the handful of adaptations of this novel, so beyond watching this one to see an early Rickman role, I was also curious to see how this story translated onscreen.

Note–the picture quality of this cover image does not reflect the pretty fuzzy picture quality of the version I watched on YouTube. Apologies in advance for the blurry screencaps.

cover

Next page: “Episode 1”

Leave a Reply

